Sharing my Art

New Page

Today I created a new fixed page on Jamoroki-Art called ‘SHARING’ which gives information about the sharing of my photos under a ‘Creative Commons’ licence which you can access at the bottom of any page on this blog.

What is Creative Commons?

Creative Commons is a non-profit organisation that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools.

If you want to give people the right to share, use, and even build upon a work you’ve created, you should consider publishing it under a Creative Commons license. It gives you flexibility and protects the people who use your work, so they don’t have to worry about copyright infringement, as long as they abide by the conditions you have specified.

CC’s mission

Creative Commons develops, supports, and stewards legal and technical infrastructure that maximizes digital creativity, sharing, and innovation.

CC’s vision

Our vision is nothing less than realizing the full potential of the Internet — universal access to research and education, full participation in culture — to drive a new era of development, growth, and productivity.

Watermarks are ugly.

I want to be free to share my images but with some sensible provisos so in addition to using Creative Commons I don’t watermark my images for a variety of reasons.

The main ones being:

  • I hate looking at watermarked images myself so I imagine other people will feel the same.
  • I want people to enjoy the art without distraction.
  • Creative Commons and Watermark free images allow more people to use my images and hopefully in time give me more exposure.
  • ‘Hob Goblins’ do steal images but decent people and bona-fide companies don’t. For now I am prepared to take the risk.

Anyone is welcome to use my images as long as they don’t use them for commercial purposes.

One thought on “Sharing my Art

Leave a Reply

